Bad bitches know there’s no quitting.

A friend of mine recently voiced their disappointment for Bernie supporters who choose to drop out of the system after Clinton secured the DNC nomination. They said “bad bitches know there’s no quitting” and those are words to live by.

giphy (1)

In March of 2000, 61% of my home state California voted to define marriage as a heterosexual privilege. I expected to be crushed. I had spent months making calls, knocking on doors, and standing outside with a clipboard trying to turn out a sympathetic gay vote. Instead I asked, “what’s next” and showed up to the debrief meeting.

In November of 2000, I learned the popular vote did not elect the president as the Supreme Court decided who would lead our country during my formative years. My friends turned 18 in 2001 as we were lead into open armed conflict. I watched a political party who promoted small government expand their reach further than I ever imagined. I wrote letters, I took to the streets, I tried to explain how our fear was being preyed upon to a WWII veteran Grandmother who thought our president was “handsome” and therefore qualified.

Three years into the Bush administration I was of age to vote. My first ballot was cast during the clusterf*ck recall of the California governor. No one I knew thought we’d elect the man who played Kindergarten Cop in 2003 or again in 2006. But elections are unpredictable if you are only following popular opinion and my state which gave us Harvey Milk and George Takei passed another ban on same-sex marriage in 2008 after Prop 22 was overturned in court. At least we had the sense to give our 55 electoral votes to Obama.

June 26, 2015 was the day before my sister’s wedding. By this point we had both moved away from the Bay Area, I was living in Indiana and she in Massachusetts. The Supreme Court ruled that her upcoming nuptials would now be recognized nationwide. This did not happen on a fluke, people stood up for their rights and followed through the system to fight for justice from discriminatory laws.

And what I had I done? 15 years of keeping my position known. 15 years of speaking out that love is love is love. 15 years of listening and finding common ground. 15 years of losing elections and holding my ground. I did not reduce my position to prayers,”because prayers are just really not enough. Prayers are lovely. They totally do not absolve you from further work in the world though.”—author Lasara Firefox Allen. I serve the Goddess by engaging in the changing of minds.

So to all you Bernie or Bust supporters, you need to commit to the revolution for the long haul. Our systems have been safeguarded against rebellion and we need to work within them to bring about change. My district has the opportunity to turn blue and reclaim our House, Senate, and Governor’s mansion. Support Bernie by giving him a majority in the Senate to hold a Clinton presidency accountable for progressive policy. We do not quit.

You are not absolved from further work.

giphy

Leave a Reply

