E is for Essential Oils

I have a love affair with chemistry.  I was never closer to Hogwarts than when I took O-Chem in college, although that felt a lot like Breaking Bad too.

But I am not a fan of chemicals in every day use.  In the DIY low impact approach  essential oils are my anti bacterial, viral, and microbial friends.  My thought is the more complicated it is to make, the longer it will need to break down in the environment.  Here are a few of my favorite potions using essential oils to swap out commercial products.

My Other Broom is a Swiffer Wet Jet
do this first to remove the container
it holds 5.2 cups, we will make a little less than that
mix together
2/3 cup of liquid castile soap
4 cups of warm water
1/3 cup of lemon juice
10 drops of either tea tree or lemon oil
(works best on tile or vinyl)

Are you a good witch, or a bad witch? Bath Salts
start with 1 cup of basic bath salt recipe
add
6 drops of clove oil
4 drops of faery garden oil

Familiar Fur-Off Spray
I spray my cat trees with this to loosen the fur offerings and wipe them clean
to a 16 oz spray bottle add
1 and 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup witch hazel
6 drops lavender oil
4 drops cat nip oil

(number 31 on the pagan blog project week 10)

2 thoughts on “E is for Essential Oils

  1. Got any natural stain remover tips (or just something that cleans up cat puke)? I’m in the market for getting rid of the scary-chemical-one I have; it smells like processed feet that have fermented in old laundry and spoiled perfume. 😦

    • You can use the wet jet solution if it’s on flooring. For carpet make a paste of baking soda and vinegar on the spot, brush it in, let it dry, and vacuum it up. You can add a couple drops of something fresh like grapefruit or orange if you don’t like the vinegar smell.

Leave a Reply

