Wild Orange Blossom and Sevenberry Sangria

This summer I purchased a rather large tin of Himalayan Splendor at Tevana.  It was on sale marked from $75 to $20 and I was out of my black loose leaf teas.  I was expecting more of a Irish breakfast and found it to be closer to an darjeeling which I don’t dabble in.  It just sat there in it’s imposing tin, an impulse buy with no plan.  I was determined to find a pairing that would suit the tannin musky taste.  I tend to like a fruity petite sirah to balance out tannin and perhaps a herbal or rooibos addition would sweeten my tea pot without adding a sugar rush.

Tevana is a wondrous place for smells, large vats of tea fanned into your face allowing your nose to travel all over the world.  I am already a die-hard youthberry fan, most stores will have a mix of  wild orange blossom and youthberry in their front sampler.  Wild orange blossom is an herbal tea with citrus and apple peals, hibiscus flowers, and rose petals.  Less like a bag of oranges and more like a tropical garden, it has a flowery fertile smell and taste.  An ounce of this was already on my shopping list before I entered the store.  I wanted to try another stronger tea, a fruit punch for the pot.  I was introduced to the the acai matetini mate which was too close to the wild orange blossom and the raspberry riot which was too delicate too add to the black tea.  It was the sevenberry sangria that peaked my interest.  This green rooibos with hibiscus flowers, grapes, elderberries, black currants, and blueberries smells like all of those things at once.  With an ounce of sevenberry and wild orange blossom, I was ready to test my tea.

My first run was with the one teaspoon of wild orange blossom and half a teaspoon of Himalayan splendor in my eight oz cup and waited 5 mins to steep.  The tea was a deep amber color and smelled of citrus flowers in planter boxes.  The splendor added a earthy undertone to the tea which was welcome for a winter cup.  I needed a small bit of honey to liven up the cup.  For the sevenberry mix, I added one teaspoon of sevenbeerry sangria to half a teaspoon of splendor and waited 5 mins to steep again.  The dark blue sevenberry was the flavor powerhouse I had been looking for, it completely overwhelmed the splendor.   The splendor lent only it’s caffeine to the mix and kept it’s tannins to the background.   If you are looking for a truly fruity treat, mix equal parts of with orange blossom with the sevenberry and pretend you there isn’t a foot of snow on the ground.

Leave a Reply

