Nine Things Every Happy Person Should Have

9 Things every happy person should have

1. A go-to drink.  Because they don’t have butterbeer at bars…citrus vodka and tonic, I prefer lemon but any will do.  If the bar doesn’t carry any citrus vodka, this is a sign of cocktail trouble, order a “mexican” bottled beer like Modelo or Corona instead.
2. A go-to Karaoke song.  Don’t Stop Believing as a group or duet or if by myself Gold Dust Woman by Fleetwood Mac.  I have the voice of a cat in heat, so emotion is better than technique here.

3. A uniform.  Glasses, all day everyday.  One day I will find a signature style, right now I am struggling not to cut off my hair that looks good long but has more upkeep than my cats.

4. A hair stylist they love.  I miss Nassir at Shampoo Dolls.  I got my hair cut right before I moved because I knew this was going to be the hardest service to replace.  He would cut my hair in a way that would reduce the tangles, no idea how but it was magic.
5. An exercise routine.  When I am following a routine it’s twice a week with 2 miles on a cardio machine, recumbent bikes are the best for my knees, and then 3 sets of weights focusing on either arms, back, core, or legs.  I try to sneak in a yoga class or swim at least once a week.
6. A hobby.  I asked my Grandfather once if he had any hobbies, he pointed to my Grandma.  I don’t make crafts, do sports, or join clubs.  If anything my hobby is pinning things I am never going to do.
7. A best friend.  I have a person, her name is Kay.  I also have a husband.  I need both.

8. A healthy sense of self.  I entered into my 20s with the idea I had me all figured out but found passionate/opinionated me I was to be less successful than the me I wanted to be.  Then I found that successful me was only good at work and I needed to be a more balanced me.  Right now I am focusing on a more academic me to have a paper trail of my potential and find a job that allows me the flexibility to push my passions and the freedom to self-care.
9. A guilt free indulgence.  Seeing movies by myself, make-up samples, and a bloody mary for breakfast (it’s a cocktail and a salad!)

(list yoinked and re-purposed from one of my favorite authors, Gail Carriger)
Leave a Reply

