Apple Pie Moonshine

We normally try to keep whiskey on hand during the winter months to add to hot cocoa or totties.  It’s been a brutally cold and I was craving something with a little more spice in my cup.  When we spotted the Midnight Moon flavored moonshine at Meijer the apple pie flavor was the only one with any appeal.  Cherry and strawberry had anemic berries floating at the bottom which was reminiscence of the fruit cups I hated as a child.  I am normally not a fan of favored alcohol, Malibu coconut rum tastes like sunscreen to me, so I was already weary when I decided to give Midnight Moon a try.

Midnight Moon Apple Pie has a medium caramel color similar to that of Markers Mark whiskey.  You can see a whole cinnamon stick bouncing around the bottom of the wide mouth mason jar as promise of things to come.  At 70 proof (35% alcohol/volume), it was sure to warm me up from the inside.  Upon opening the jar you are hit with the warm scent of baked apples and cinnamon.  Then you are left wondering how you are going to pour out the liquor from the wide opening without making a huge mess.  I opted for a turkey baster to take off the first few ounces before I felt comfortable pouring from the jar.  Plain, the moonshine offered no artificial notes and had a creamy buttery note instead of a hard oak taste.

I was feeling adventurous and tried a shot of the moonshine in my regular hot cocoa preparation.  I was expecting it to be too sweet but the creamy feel added to the chocolate which paired well with the cinnamon spice.  The milk base of the cocoa took away any firewater from the moonshine and made the whole preparation way to easy to down in big gulps.  This is definitely a staying in to watch Netflix kind of drink.

For my next cocktail, I made an English Breakfast hot toddy with the Midnight Moon Apple Pie.  The moonshine added enough sweet and sour to skip the lemon and honey.  I steeped my tea in hot water and a shot of the Midnight Moon for 3 minutes.  It tasted like a warm piece of apple pie washing over my mouth, and again, much too easy to drink.  Overall a delicious flavored alternative to my standard whiskey.

midnight moon

Leave a Reply

